Funky Monkey Lodge

Funky Monkey Lodge is located in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica with rustic bungalows and luxury apartments. They offer and create the perfect yoga, surf, or aerial silk holiday for any group.

  • Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica

Speaks English

from US$536

Really Good 8.4/10

Based on 15 reviews
from US$536
Price for:

8 days / 7 nights

Really Good 8.4/10

Based on 15 reviews

Speaks English

from US$450

Really Good 8.4/10

Based on 15 reviews
from US$450
Price for:

6 days / 5 nights

Really Good 8.4/10

Based on 15 reviews

Verified BookSurfCamps.com reviews

  • C
    Review by Chelsea Cox from United States

    Funky Monkey Lodge was perfect 🐒

    PROS Pros: I loved the laid back feeling at Funky Monkey. The yoga studio is in the jungle and I was delighted to see 20 howler monkeys swinging from tree to tree. The food was delicious and the bungalow was very comfy. The grounds are absalutely beautiful! This was the perfect invironment for relaxing. Nacho was the surf instructor and provided feedback every time I caught a wave which helped me improve a ton. Thank you Nacho! I also went paddle boarding and had so much fun trying to do yoga on the boards!

    Organizer response: Ho Chelseas! Thank you @! we loved to have you as a guest!! Hopefully we see you soon again!

    2017-Jul-31 17:54:25

  • A
    Review by Anke Hoffmann from Germany

    Surfen und Yoga in Santa Teresa

    PROS Pros: Da ich in der Nebensaison in Santa Teresa war, war's noch nicht so überlaufen. Ich hatte einen super netten sehr geduldigen Surf Lehrer ganz für mich alleine. Die Anweisungen waren sehr hilfreich und es hat total Spaß gemacht. Das Essen war vorzüglich! Und es gab viel leckeres Obst der Saison. Die Lage des Hostel ist fast mitten im Dschungel und man kann Affen in den Bäumen beobachten. Die Zimmer sind sauber und haben Charakter! Die Yoga Stunden sind auch fantastisch. Meist war ich hier mit der Lehrerin auch alleine. Die Stunden können für totale Anfänger allerdings sehr herausfordernd sein. Das Yoga Studio ist offen und von Dschungel umringt. In der Ferne hört man das Meer. Ich bin total zufrieden!

    Organizer response: Vielen Dank!

    2017-Jul-17 11:01:17

  • N
    Review by Naaisha Haneef from Brazil

    CONS Cons: Lack of service and really bad management. Don't expect things to be arranged for you when you get there. Maybe you should edit the text in this page which says "everything is organized and ready before you arrive" there is a reception but the volunteers doesn't seem to know what's going on around the house. It was a hassle to get around because they weren't really helping at all. At the end of the day even to get back to San Jose I had to go figure it out myself. So you better do everything yourself.

    PROS Pros: It's in a perfect location in the middle of the jungle and also closer to the beach, and accessible to restaurants and cafe's. The only thing I enjoyed during my stay is the surf lessons. "Pura vida Surfers" Did a really good job. So kudos to that. The other great thing was meeting a lot of lovely guests from the United States. I had a great time with them.

    Organizer response: Der Nasha. Thank you for your review. I am very sorry we didn't meet your expectation. I ( the owner) personally asked the very first day if you were happy with the room and the lodge and received all the information. I gave you PRIVATE silk class as our teacher was out of town. I explained that surf lessons depend on the weather, tide and the quality of wave, and that next classes will be arranged day by day. The manager and surf instructor informed me that you canceled class couple times - last minute notice..which we accepted and postponed for other day. Extra activities as zip line and sup yoga were arranged as requested. All aerial silk classes were private and you received information equivalent to an expensive teacher training. you were changed to a different room upon request so that you can stay with other girls.You extended your stay with us!!!! and the list goes on… We work rally hard to make any client’s stay unique. You received the same attention as anyone else. The property is not that big to have difficulty to get around..? The restaurant and reception is 10 steps away from the room you stayed, the pool and yoga studio are 100m away… As for complain about nobody being around to arrange a transportation back - this is the very confusing. Our surf instructor and manager take you home from a party at 3 AM. you also decided to pay the bill at that hour, which is not very common and took the bus option with no reservation needed (150 m away)..

    2017-Jul-10 20:33:53

  • N
    Review by Nicole Kapasakis from United States

    Beautiful place & people, great waves, very chill ambiance

    CONS Cons: The yoga component was great but could have been a bit more developed with more instructors maybe

    PROS Pros: The location, the people, the food, really the entire package was awesome

    2017-Jun-28 19:30:02

  • J
    Review by Jonathan Feldman from United States

    Great trip!!

    CONS Cons: A couple pesky fees, like for ice and water even though it was supposed to be included in the package. Nothing major

    PROS Pros: Amazing food, nice friendly staff.

    Organizer response: Thank you for your review! It was great to have you as a guest. Sorry for any misunderstandings, we do have free refill and there is a large dispenser in the communal area. We never charged anybody for ice, however we don't give free ice for drinks purchased outside the lodge. Thank you for understanding! hope to see you soon again!

    2017-Jun-20 20:04:36

  • K
    Review by Anonymous

    Good Value

    CONS Cons: Service is lacking a bit, yoga studio provides mats but they're pretty rank.

    PROS Pros: Close to the beach, surf lessons were great, food was adequate for a vegetarian, location is great, a lot of shops near by.

    2017-Jun-04 20:59:51

  • M
    Review by Anonymous

    2017-Jun-03 14:53:34

  • V
    Review by Victoria Goncharenko from Canada

    CONS Cons: Roosters in the neighboring yards who would start their cock-a-doodle-doo business at 4am or so and noise from the construction site across the road. Both are out of control of the hosts, so the only solution is perhaps a pair of good ear plugs next time! :)

    PROS Pros: Very friendly, social atmosphere, lovely and caring staff, cleanliness of the room and amenities, closeness to a breathtaking beach, being away from the main town road, healthy food choices

    2017-May-22 01:12:15

  • K
    Review by Kelsey Cunniff from United States

    Great time, but read into details

    CONS Cons: I wasn't told in advanced that this place was cash only. They had plenty of time to tell me and didn't. This caused huge inconveniences because the closest ATM is either a 1 hour walk there and back, or a $6 car ride and that doesn't include the fees associated too. If you want to pay them via paypall they send the 12% fee back on you. The owner has a small child so if you have any issues she isn't right there to deal with them or will respond via email and have someone else come awkwardly confront you. If you book through them- you need to be assertive. There isn't a set schedule or anything so I was pushed in all sorts of directions to figure out when to surf, do yoga, etc. It was just a bit disorganized.

    PROS Pros: The food was amazing and the surf and yoga instructors were top notch. I had a great experience, but definitely highlighted the issues I had below.

    Organizer response: Dear Kelsey Thank you for your comment. All reservations are informed that balance will be paid cash upon arrival. I agree that in your case - as it was last minute reservation - I didn't mention it once you reserved. We however tolled you upon arrival about cash payment, apart that there is a big sign saying cash only on the reception door and each room has a information booklet where it also says cash only. You were upset about your bank fee and we paid that we for you. Every question you had was briskly answered. Because the owner has a small child she has manager and receptionists to help here out. She answers any question directed to here in minutes. Hope that is understandable. Gabi

    2017-May-03 17:16:49

  • L
    Review by Lauren Shea from United States

    2017-Apr-29 01:26:45

  • E
    Review by Elizabeth Sagarin from United States

    PROS Pros: The people and the experiences and the views were priceless. Absolute paradise. I can't wait to go back.

    Organizer response: Thank you Elizabeth!

    2017-Apr-06 13:17:00

  • C
    Review by Christine Kolber from Luxembourg

    happy

    Organizer response: Thank you Christine!!!

    2017-Apr-05 06:58:16

  • Review by Aurelie from France
    10 out of 10

    "We booked our first Surf and Yoga retreat with Funky Monkey Lodge and It was an amazing experience! First because of the people who are so lovely and welcoming. With my friend we felt at home from the first minute we arrive at the place! We found there a great team, always looking to make your journey as nice as it can be. We felt like if all the staff were our friends after one day! The food is exceptional fresh and healthy. Yoga classes absolutely fabulous, in the middle of the jungle, trust me this is very resourcing! And finally about the surf lessons, a huge thanks to the monitors! I had never improve my practice like this before and I took the best waves of my life! Used to travel, I can tell you that is a dreaming place and amazing people. We will come back for sure!"

    BookYogaRetreats website, edited

  • Review by Linda from Switzerland
    10 out of 10

    "Super nice environnement, people and food !"

    BookYogaRetreats, edited

  • Review by Holly Valdez
    9 out of 10

    "My daughter and I spent five nights at the Funky Monkey Lodge and had a blast! The staff gave very personal attention to us and our needs, and the excursions were planned perfectly! It was the most exhausting, yet revitalizing trip that we have ever taken. We will definitely be back!"

    BookYogaRetreats website, edited

Testimonials

  • Review by Lisa Simpson
    10 out of 10

    "Funky Monkey Lodge has it all. It has beautiful tidy accommodations, delicious food, friendly and funny staff, and great ambience! I stayed there for one week for my surfing camp with Pura Vida surfers and had a blast! The chefs cook the most delicious meals and make the best sushi in town. The dorms are spacious, clean, and you get free towels. The staff is always in a good mood and helps with anything it might need.The location is good as well as you have supermarkets, stores, restaurants, and the surfing spots are very close. I will definitely come back!"

    TripAdvisor website, edited

  • Review by Celine S.
    10 out of 10

    "I enjoyed my stay at the Funky Monkey from the first second I arrived! The guys in charge do everything to make you feel welcome at home. I had a private nice bungalow with daily cleaning service. The food is amazing, prepared freshly by Nacho and Joaquin. Thank you for everything!"

    TripAdvisor website, edited

  • Review by Judy J.
    10 out of 10

    "I came for two nights and I ended up staying for six nights. I stayed in a fantastic room with a big balcony above the bar and restaurant, they are not noisy. My room didn't have air conditioner but I didn't need it as the two fans were quite good enough. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was great. "

    TripAdvisor website, edited

  • Review by Lea
    10 out of 10

    "I would totally recommend that Lodge! Not only because of it's beautiful location, but also because of the charming staff! You're always having fun and they do everything to make your stay most comfortable! It is the place to be for everyone, stay with friends or with your family, you will love it!"

    ""

    TripAdvisor website, edited